Document Viewer‎ > ‎

Notes Tab

Location:  Document Viewer->Notes Tab

General

The Notes Tab is the third tab located near the upper right of Document Viewer. Users can access the Document Viewer by clicking on any link to the document from the Search or Browse pages.  Notes allow users to keep and share information about documents and can be public so others in the case can view them, or private so only the user creating them can see them.

How to open the Notes Tab in the Document Viewer

Select a document by its title either from the Browse or Search pages.




The Document viewer will open a new tab or window in the web browser displaying the document in PDF format. 

In the upper right corner of the Document Viewer, the page is divided into five Coded Data tabs (Doc, Disc, Notes, Facts and Related).

Working with Notes

The Lexbe eDiscovery Platform (LEP) provides the ability to add and edit Notes for a particular document.  Click the Notes tab to edit or delete existing notes or to create new ones. 

Create Notes

Click the New Note hyperlink to open the Note editor, populate fields, and then Save. See Analysis>Case Note page for a list of all the current notes in the case available to the current user.

Order Notes By:  Select whether the Notes should be ordered by the Document Title or a specific page.

When creating a new note, the user(s) will have the following fields to describe the note:

First Page: Refers to which document page the note refers.
Status: The note can be assigned as Private or Public, depending upon the availability desired. Private notes can be viewed only by the user making the note.  Public notes can be viewed by anyone with case access.
Note Title
: Short summary title of the note.
Note
: Detailed information about the selected document.








Search Pages by Document Notes

LEP allows users to open specific pages of a Document (only PDF files) listed on the Notes tab.  To open the page referred to on the Note Document, click on the link View Page.



Edit Notes

Click on Edit (on the right top of Notes window) to edit or make changes to notes in required fields and then click Save or Cancel.

Delete Notes

Users can delete a Note by clicking on Delete in the Notes window. A note cannot be retrieved once deleted.